Pharping, Nepal: A Beginning

The last few days have been transformative, in a different manner than I could have possibly imagined. I’m really exhausted so I’ll keep it relatively short, but there’s so much more than I could write.
As a brief overview today I woke up for breakfast with the group then had Tibetan language lessons, then tea, then met the director of the program and listened to an explanation of the program, then lunch, then cultural norms then the alumni speech then dinner.
Today feels like it’s been a week at least. Breakfast was a lovely affair with the whole group and teaaaaaaa ~ the tea here is out of this world ~ then the dong was sounded and we moved to class. Class is in a carpeted room in which we sit, barefoot, on pillows. After class I had a one-on-one meeting with Dorje, a Tibetan man, who helped me with the Tibetan alphabet for a while. That was such an incredible and somehow intimate experience, with me sounding out each letter after him and he correcting me often, of course. I asked how to say basic Tibetan phrases and he laughed, and helped me.
The day flowed, and soon we were sitting in a circle outside with the mountains surrounding us, discussing why we chose this experience and what we would study for the independent study portion. I got shivers and my stomach lurched, thinking of being alone for an entire month, studying something which may become my life’s work. As I worried I noticed the way our director, Hubert, talked, with a constant grin and bubbly humor. I watched as the people guiding us laughed together and were so genuinely at peace. This is a very different place, with different ways of experiencing life. And I love it already.
During lunch I started a conversation with one of the hotel staff and came to find out he is Newar, which according to him is a caste in the ancient social system. He explained the festival we attended yesterday when I asked, and we discussed local deities and festivals along with Anna, another student. He opened up to us easily and welcomed our questions.
I have had more meaningful conversations with strangers within the past few days than I can recall in the States.
Finally, I was truly humbled by listening to Sierra, a previous SIT student now working with NGOs involving climate change and small communities. The way she discussed how she spent her time here and then how it changed the course of her life galled me and get have me a burst of courage and excitement that I needed a lot.
More to come, eh?

3 thoughts on “Pharping, Nepal: A Beginning

  1. I am so proud of all you do. Thanks for the wonderful blog. We will follow your adventures with love and amazement. You r so lucky to have so many great opportunities and to take such full advantage of each and every day. We love u so very much. Dee

    Like

      1. Xoxox. We all think about u all the time. Today is jakes birthday & we will eat BBQ at their house tonight. Everything is great here! You have a Big birthday coming up too! Have a great cemebration. Love u to China and back,Xoxox

        Like

Leave a Reply

